Chakras: The Energy Centers

In the simplest meaning, chakras are the subtle but powerful energy centers inside the human body.

The word “Chakra” is actually derived from an Indian word which means wheel or circle. In Reiki, we focus on the seven major chakras or energy centers seated inside a person. These chakras are situated in different points of the body. Each chakra works with a group of vital organs.

Root/Support chakra
Located at the base of the spine. Its function is survival and grounding. Its inner state is stillness and stability. Its color is Red and its planets are Earth and Saturn. Its stones are Garnet, Ruby, Onyx, Ubsyding. Meditation on: I am. Balancing this chakra gives energy to the physical body, controls fear, increases overall health and helps in grounding. Energies: Earth, Grounding, focusing, Centering.
Navel/Sacral chakra
Located in the lower abdomen, Genitals, Womb. Its function is Desire, Sexuality, Pleasure, Procreation. Its inner state is tears. Its color is Orange and its celestial body is the Moon. Its stone are Coral and Camelian. Meditation on: I feel. Balancing this chakra is associated with sexual vitality, physical power and fertility. Energies: Fire, Energizing, Charging.
Solar Plexus Chakra
Located in the area above the navel area. Its function is will, power. Its inner state is laughter, joy, anger. Its color is Yellow and its planets are Mars and the sun. Its stone are Amber, Topaz and Citrine. Meditation on: I do. Balancing this chakra is associated with calming, emotions and frustration casing tension and helping to better utilize intuition. Energies: Fire, Energizing, Charging, Lends Energy.
Heart Chakra
Located in the center of the chest. Its function is Love. Its inner state is compassion love. Its color is Green and its planet is Venus. Its stone are Green/pinkstone- Peridor Rose, Quartz, Malachile. Meditation on: I love. Balancing this chakra is important for the circulatory system. Heart and Thymus. Its also affects spiritual love. Compassion and universal oneness. Energies: Water, Calming, Soothes, Relaxes.
Throat Chakra
Located in the throat. Its function is Communication, Creativity. Its inner state is synthesis of ideas into symbols. Its color is bright Blue and its planers are Mercury and Neptune. Its stone are Sodalite, Blue lace, Agate lapis Lazul. Meditation on: I speak. Balancing this chakra is important for the speech and communication areas of the brain. Energies: Water, Calming, Sooths, Relaxes.
Third Eye Chakra
Located in the center of the forehead above the eyebrows. Its function is seeing intuiting. Its inner state is: I know. Its color is Indigo and its planet is Jupiter. Its stone is: Lolite. Its meditation is: I see. Balancing this chakra helps psychic perception and balancing the pineal gland. Energies: Air, Meditation, Intuition, Promotes thought.
Crown Chakra
Located at the top of Head. Its function is understanding. Its inner state is: Bliss. Its color is Violet and its planet is Uranus. Its stone is Amethyst. Its meditation is: I understand. Balancing this chakra is said to give vitality to the cerebrum and affects the development of psychic abilities. Energies: Air, Meditative, Intuition, Promotes thought